top of page
Search
  • I. G. Moody

The Pilot Post

To my fellow families,

Chances are someone you know gave you this blog to read and you may wonder why you should consider taking the time to continue reading. I ask that you take my word, that I am a man, married to an amazing woman for nearly 14 years- with 3 kids toting along behind us. I want to let you know that I pursue noble character according to the examples in the New Testament, I manage my life well and pursue living well. The person you got this from could attest to this if you asked. I certainly do have flaws and if you want to ask me anything you can- as my contact information is at the end of this letter.

Memorial Day weekend in 2016 my wife received the results of some testing that confirmed breast cancer was not only present but quite active. All things processed, we decided to have the first mastectomy. One year later, a tumor returned in the exact same spot, angry and more aggressive than the first time working itself into the lymph nodes as well. We left it for observation for a while. However, it was eventually removed in February 2019. This was considered a second mastectomy.

We recently received news from yet another scan. The cancer is now eating my wife’s hip, pelvic and some of the rib bones causing occasional pain. It was also found in some lymph nodes near her spine and lower neck. We also know from testing that this cancer to be highly aggressive, durable and adaptive. Given that this is considered a third round with this condition, makes the situation even more volatile.

This entire journey, we have trusted God to heal us, refine us and provide for us. At first, we wanted this healing to be physical. Instead, God has healed broken parts of our hearts- this seems to be more of what He is interested in. Things from the past, pride, and other ugly broken things that were buried have been brought to light and given us freedom- God has healed the “inner us” first. We are better friends- to each other and others. We are better parents. We are better people from this time of challenging days- my grandpa used to say “The tallest corn is in the horse-weeds” oh how we have grown. This journey has also caused us no medical debt- this has been amazing provision and Gods wisdom applied- proving His wonderous ways work! It has truly been an all encompassing blessing to receive this trial. Don’t get me wrong, we want it to be concluded- we do know there is a finish line ahead somewhere.

We will cross this finish line in God way, in Gods time.

The real reason for this letter is that you know that we have a good God that heals! We are convinced it’s now time to heal her body, the cells that have turned against their intended purpose and actively rebelled against their own life source, her body. This next healing step is a big one- much larger than I can ever provide for. Just managing, leading, coordinating, loving and handling the job, the marriage, stress, 3 kids, and keeping to the Word is very consuming. Which brings us to the second purpose of this letter- to ask you for your help.

Our immediate need for treatments is very much right now totals right about $50,000. After this step is the ongoing need that will quite possibly stretch into 2020 if not further. This need has been counseled to us to be about an additional $50,000 and given the last 3 ½ years, I believe it. My salary can float the “normal” family needs at this time. But in keeping to the trend God has shown us of His provision, and in trust to Him- we want to open our hands to you to see what happens.

If your personal position is unable to help us financially, do not fret! I trust God to bring His plan about in His time, His way which is always best. We love meals, hugs, laughter, house projects, floor sweepers and dish washers. Our kids might love hanging out with your kids- at YOUR house! Prayers are more welcome and coveted as well. There are so many temptations of the mind to think on the negative. These can derail progress at home, health and damage places that cannot be seen as well.

Please enjoy this blog. I intend to update here on the healing journey, as well as normal family truths, lessons and stories as we walk. I have a donation button set up on the blog. If you wish to avoid the transaction fee, envelops work just as well. Contact me to get an address. (My wife Karyn loves encouraging notes.) Thank you for your time reading this letter. Hopefully you were encouraged in your own trial and may God bless your day.

May Gods Kingdom grow ever deeper and wider- for His Glory alone

Isaac Moody and Family

541 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

The Next Steps of Our Journey- the new chapter

When people ask how we are- how I am, how the kids are doing… I answer honestly. We are doing well. This is not a lie at all! God has blessed us tremendously the last few months. As we approach mo

Blessings of the Summer

Oh how the summer has flown by! Here at the Moody homestead the grass is fading into that ugly brown while the weeds keep on growing. The bugs that keep on flying are beginning to be fewer and fewer.

Peace In Our Burdens

It has been roughly 5 months since this blog began. What a journey It has been! I realize I have been quiet recently. The reason is twofold. First, work has picked up to the point I am now full time-

bottom of page