top of page
Search
  • I. G. Moody

First Day at the Clinic

We did make it to our destination today! Thank you all for your prayers for us to get here.

We met with one of the staff Dr. after we settled in. Honestly, I cannot recall his name at all. Karyn was comfortable with him very quickly. We went over her full medical history and detailed cancer history. Honestly, that was a bit challenging for me to hear. My mind has glazed it over, and sort of stuffed it into the memory closet where I more easily ignore the struggles we have had. During the recounting of each event, I recalled how much our life has changed in he last 4 years. Really, it was tough on the inside to hear it then re-process it. Perhaps someday, I can post a rundown of the history. But for now, I’d like to share a little bit about where we are!

We are currently in Tijuana Mexico at Hope 4 Cancer clinic. They have 2 locations, here and Cancun. We were originally scheduled for Cancun, but when we updated our application with the new news the staff realized the extent (if this is the right word) of the cancer in the bones, they moved us to Tijuana- an in-patient clinic.

So we made it here in one piece. (No mom, I did not starve.) There is food here but no coffee (um… the oral consumption kind) available. I’ve heard rumors of a very good coffee shop around the corner. I have also been assured it is safe here to walk around and I believe it. Seems like a decent hood, however it is very much not our gravel road.

Our room is not a 5 star hotel, but I will certainly tell you I have slept in much worse places! We do have a street view, which is unfortunately loud- but so is anything when you are used to living in the middle of nowhere. Blessedly, they supplied ear plugs…. We do, however, have an ocean view and a small balcony! Lucky us. This I am looking forward to utilizing. Like most Hoosiers this time of year I have missed our blessed sunshine!

The people here are great people! It is a very bi-lingual environment. Half (ish) of the patients are from the USA, but we have met folks from Canada, England, Indonesia and the staff from Mexico. There is really quite a pool of individuals here. Each one has a positive outlook on the bleak situation. Some of these patients, seem to me so much further progressed than Karyn, yet they smile and ask about our story. Its humbling to me when they express their sympathy. I think God has physical work for Karyn to do- and He has something in mind for me as well- I cannot be quite sure what it is.

We really have been up a while at this point and it has been a big day. Gratefully I have eaten about 4 full meals and snacks due to the time change! (I told you I’d be ok mom.) I really wanted to share with you all that we arrived, Karyn is comfortable and confident this was the right step. I am confident that she will have good care here and this is where God wanted us to come. I do not know what tomorrow brings- I only know that God will be there too…

Stay praying! Stay healthy! Stay tuned! God bless you all!

228 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Next Steps of Our Journey- the new chapter

When people ask how we are- how I am, how the kids are doing… I answer honestly. We are doing well. This is not a lie at all! God has blessed us tremendously the last few months. As we approach mo

Blessings of the Summer

Oh how the summer has flown by! Here at the Moody homestead the grass is fading into that ugly brown while the weeds keep on growing. The bugs that keep on flying are beginning to be fewer and fewer.

Peace In Our Burdens

It has been roughly 5 months since this blog began. What a journey It has been! I realize I have been quiet recently. The reason is twofold. First, work has picked up to the point I am now full time-

bottom of page